At the craft fair last week, I saw this wonderful book of socks by Tantulltuss. I immediately wanted the book, but I also noticed this pair of BP socks on the wall of all-the-socks in her stand. And I really don’t need more sock yarn / sock projects, but this was irresistible.

Now the story is that my dad works at a company that builds gas station systems. Pumps, payment systems, registers, etc. When I was growing up, we would always suddenly stop at gas stations to take pictures of pumps, or go out in the middle of the night to check on a problem at some station, or upload some experimental software to some other station.

Also, when I was little, “our” gas station, the one in our general neighbourhood, was a BP. It hasn’t existed as a gas station under that logo since 1994, when I was 10 years old.

2016-11-10-13-44-08

So I had to buy a kit for what I hopefully will be able to finish for christmas for my dad. The main problem being that his shoe size is “ginormous”, and the pattern only allows for different length of foot, not “oh and they’re 15% wider too, so good luck getting stranded knitting over your heel”.

But I think now, at the sixth attempt with 6 stitches added, I’ve got something that’ll work out. Hopefully it’ll end up somewhat his size.

Oh, and get this, my dad’s name is Hans-Eric Karlsson, and the pattern is called “Karl Erik at BP”. It’s not exact, but it’s extremely close!

