After years of wishing, I finally got (by buying them as an early christmas gift to myself from someone else) some erasable pencils! Col-erase to be more precise, by recommendation from one of our graphical designers.

2016-12-09-20-22-24

So to force myself to draw more often, AND to have something to draw when my head is too full to see anything, I picked up a 30 day drawing challenge. Which may turn out to be just a 30 drawings challenge, days be damned. But at least I started.

2016-12-11-21-06-13

The first prompt is “Things you would put on a table”. At first I felt ambitious, and that I should draw all the junk I’ve actually got on our kitchen table right now. But then I thought it’s better to just draw a little, but actually do something, than to just go overboard and not finish.

So I started with this non-photo-blue base (using a crap pencil sharpener – note: use the better sharpener!), and then I went over that with my ultra thin black ink pen

2016-12-11-21-32-29

The blue is actually pretty nicely ignored once the ink is on top, and I could probably go over the entire thing with an eraser to make it really well behaved.

The cat needs a ton of crosshatching done, but as she’s really a BLACK cat, I sort of just mind-froze and left her like this. All white. With no shadows. (I mean, she already has no shadows, because she’s so black usually shows up as a hole against the background – in spite of just being calico – it’s something about this matte almost brown tone of hers)

The pencils are quite waxy, which is comfortable in a way, but my aggressive lettering was so waxy the pen didn’t want to stick to it, which is why you can see I’d lost my patience by the time I got to the word “Cat”. (I’ve also extended the right window border by half an inch, because balance)

So lots of things I could improve that I see, tons of things i DON’T see, but at least I’ve started. And I’m pretty happy with it! It’s cute!

